Provincial Volunteer Awards On Today In Halifax

Posted on Tuesday, April 18, 2017 11:48 AM

(Photo: Kelly Regan Twitter)

The province is presenting Provincial Volunteer Awards today in Halifax.

Each municipality chose a volunteer representative.

For the Town of Yarmouth, it's Rachelle d'Entremont.

d'Entremont has given her time to many local organizations such as the Yarmouth Central School breakfast program, 100+ Women Who Care Yarmouth County, Rotary Club and Yarmouth Meals on Wheels.

For the Municipality of Yarmouth this year, it was Norman Amirault.

The 78 year old has volunteered at the Yarmouth Fire Department for 50 years and the St. Ambrose Choir for nearly as long.

He also plows many driveways for neighbours during winter.

Other volunteers being honoured include Jill Surette in Argyle, Marie Saulnier in Clare, Eliza Powell in Barrington, Sheldon Bell in Clark's Harbour, Dana Dares for the Municipality of Shelburne, Donna Renehan in the Town of Shelburne, Vicki Huskilson in Lockeport, Shirley Dugas in the Municipality of Digby and Oliver Jansen in the Town of Digby.